Hurricanes squad named for Mangatainoka

The Proctor brothers will start together for the Hurricanes for the first time on Saturday as the squad heads to Mangatainoka for their final Investec Super Rugby pre-season match against the Blues.

Younger brother Billy will start at second five-eighth with senior sibling Matt at centre in what will be the squad's last hit-out before they face the Waratahs in Sydney in the opening round of the competition.

Hurricanes head coach John Plumtree has named seven players who started against the Crusaders in Levin in his starting XV.

That includes four players in the pack with Ricky Riccitelli,Jeff To'omaga-Allen, Reed Prinsep and Gareth Evans all running on for a second straight week.

Fletcher Smith, who was originally meant to start against the Crusaders but came off the bench, will combine with halfback Finlay Christie who has recovered from a minor hamstring injury which kept him out of the Levin game.

The reserve bench has been reduced from last week with a number of players who featured in Levin playing for the Hurricanes Under-20 side against the Blues in Palmerston North on Friday.

Plumtree said the coaching staff had taken a lot of positives out of the review of the Crusaders match and were looking forward to the challenge the Blues will bring after they had a good win over the Chiefs in their warm-up game.

"There are obviously a lot of things to work on at this stage of the season but we will be hoping the guys have made improvements in some areas from last week's match," he said.

Kick-off at Mangatainoka is 3pm.

The Hurricanes squad to face the Blues is: 

15 Chase Tiatia
14 Vince Aso
13 Matt Proctor
12 Billy Proctor
11 Ben Lam
10 Fletcher Smith
9 Finlay Christie
8 Gareth Evans
7 Du'Plessis Kirifi
6 Reed Prinsep (c)
5 Liam Mitchell
4 James Blackwell
3 Jeff To'omaga-Allen
2 Ricky Riccitelli
1 Chris Eves


16 Asafo Aumua
17 James O'Reilly
18 Ben May
19 Alex Fidow
20 Fraser Armstrong
21 Isaia Walker-Leawere
22 Geoff Cridge
23 Heiden Bedwell-Curtis
24 Sam Henwood
25 Teariki Ben-Nicholas
26 Carlos Price
27 Jono Hickey
28 Jackson Garden-Bachop
29 Danny Toala
30 Wes Goosen
31 Salesi Rayasi

Note: Hurricanes head coach John Plumtree and selected players will be available following an open training at Masterton's Memorial Park on Friday at 5pm.